Coming Attractions

by Jason McGensy

I took a nice long break following marathon that was Black History Mumf and thank you, dear reader, for following along through all of that. All in all I’d call it a definite success, but I didn’t really know what to do next. So yesterday I sat down and asked myself what would be the least likely follow up to BHM and I think I hit on the right answer: A 8-10 part Esther Williams retrospective! I have both TCM box sets so that’s 10 movies, of which I’ve seen I think four. So I’ll rewatch those, watch the others and come up with some things to say about Hollywood’s late Swimming Queen. I can tell you right now my love/hate relationship with On An Island With You should produce an entertaining piece. Esther, Cyd Charisse, Peter Lawford, Ricardo Montalban, Xavier Cugat, AND Jimmy Durante AND a Busby Berkely number. It might just be 10 pieces about this one movie. Anyway, look for that series beginning April 1.
In the meantime, I’ll try to post about contemporary movies as I get a chance to see them and maybe participate in the critical discussion if something strikes my fancy. That’s the plan. Come and go with me.